President / VPs


Mr. Tomasz ROGALA

Mr. Tomasz ROGALA is Chairman of the Board at Polska Grupa Górnicza SA (PGG – Polish Mining Group), the largest hard coal producer in Europe, with an annual output of around 30 million tonnes from nine mines. He is a graduate of the Faculty of Law and Administration at the University of Silesia where he specialised in financial law. He also completed postgraduate studies in EU law at the Faculty of Law of the Jagiellonian University in Kraków and in business management at the University of Economics in Katowice as part of the Harzburg Kolleg programme. Mr. Rogala is a state-licensed insolvency practitioner and expert on corporate valuations. Previously, he was the President of the Management Board of Kompania Węglowa SA, prior to its restructuring. He was appointed EURACOAL President in March 2018.


Vladimir Budinsky-sm
Mr. Vladimír BUDINSKÝ

Mr. Vladimír BUDINSKÝ is responsible for foreign affairs at Severoceske doly a.s., a Czech lignite mining company and part of the ČEZ Group. He was previously Vice Chairman of the Board at ČEZ Distribuce. Born in 1959, he graduated from CVUT, the Czech Technical University in Prague, and gained his MBA at the Masaryk Institute of Advanced Studies and Sheffield Hallam University. He has held various managerial positions in the energy and transport industries. Since 2014, Mr. Budinský has served as Vice Chairman of the UNECE Group of Experts for Cleaner Electricity Production from Fossil Fuels. In 1995, he was appointed Transport Minister in the first Czech government.



Dr. Wolfgang Cieslik
Dr. Wolfgang CIESLIK. Foto: Becker&Bredel

Dr. Wolfgang CIESLIK , born in 1952 in Bornheim, studied fuel engineering at RWTH (Rheinish-Westphalian University of Technology) in Aachen. After his doctorate, he began his professional career at Rurhkohle AG, taking many positions there and rising to chairman of the management board in charge of distribution and marketing of all coal production. Currently, Dr. Cieslik is a board member at the German utility company STEAG GmbH and the current Chairman of the Coal Importers’ Association (VDKi) – a EURACOAL member. STEAG is an international company operating eight coal-fired power plants in Germany and further ones in Turkey, Colombia and the Philippines. Dr. Cieslik is responsible for all the company’s generation assets and commodity trading. He served as EURACOAL President from January 2016 to March 2018.


Dr. Lars KULIK

Dr.-Ing. Lars KULIK has been a Member of the Executive Board of RWE Power AG since August 2016, serving as Chief Technical Officer for lignite mining, refining and power generation. He graduated as a mining engineer from RWTH Aachen and was awarded a doctorate in engineering from the same university in 1992. He then joined Rheinbraun AG (now RWE Power), beginning at the Hambach opencast lignite mine. After a number of promotions, he was appointed Head of the Lignite Planning in 2004, and then in 2010 took over responsibility for Lignite Development as well. In January 2017, he was unanimously elected as a Vice President of EURACOAL.



Mr. Robert OSTROWSKI graduated from the faculty of national economy at the Wrocław University of Economics. He completed his postgraduate studies in the fields of capital investment and corporate development at the Warsaw School of Economics, as well as International Financial Reporting Standards in co-operation with Ernst & Young. He has participated in courses for investment advisors and candidates to the supervisory and management boards of state-owned companies. He currently participates in the EMBA study programme.

Mr. Ostrowski has many years of experience in executive positions, mainly financial, in the steel and mining industries, both state-owned and private. Among other positions, he served twice as the Deputy Director of Economics and Finance at Jastrzębska Spółka Węglowa S.A. and Finance Director at Katowice Huta S.A., Polskie Huty Stali S.A. and Mittal Steel Poland S.A. He was also Chief Executive Officer of the management board at Minerals Mining Group S.A. and was board member for economic affairs at Polskie Koleje Linowe S. A. He gained professional experience in such companies as Grupa Kapitałowa KGHM and Ernst & Young. Until the end of February 2019, he was Vice-President for economic affairs on the management board of Jastrzębska Spółka Węglowa S.A. Since 1 March 2019, he has been Chairman of the management board at PGE Górnictwo i Energetyka Konwencjonalna S.A.

List of ealier Past Presidents