The European Association for Coal and Lignite – EURACOAL – is the umbrella organisation of the European coal industry.  EURACOAL evolved in 2002 from the European Solid Fuels’ Association – CECSO – after the expiry of the Treaty establishing the European Coal and Steel Community.

EURACOAL has 27 members including national coal associations, importers associations, research institutes and individual companies. Representatives at EURACOAL meetings come from 20 countries: Austria, Belgium, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Finland, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, the Netherlands, Poland, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Turkey, Ukraine and the United Kingdom.

EURACOAL’s mission is to highlight the importance of coal within the EU to security of energy supply, to energy price stability, to economic added value and to environmental protection.  EURACOAL seeks to be an active communicator, with the aim of creating an appropriate framework within which the European coal industry and coal consumers can operate.

An active leader of many initiatives

EURACOAL has three committees:

  • Energy and Environment Policy Committee
  • Market Committee
  • Technical Research Committee

EURACOAL is officially represented in the European Commission RFCS Coal Advisory Group (DG Resarch & Innovation)

EURACOAL participates in the European Commission Social Dialogue (DG Employment, Social Affairs & Inclusion)

EURACOAL co-organises the Coal Dialogue with the European Commission  (DG Energy)

EURACOAL co-operates with Members of the European Parliament in the cross-party European Round Table on Coal.

EURACOAL organises meetings, such as the International Coal Dialogue and other topical workshops.

EURACOAL informs and works with many stakeholders, notably:

  • European Commission (DG Energy, DG Research & Innovation and DG Employment, Social Affairs & Inclusion)
  • European Parliament (ITRE and ENVI committees)
  • European Economic & Social Committee (CCMI – Consultative Commission on Industrial Change)
  • International Energy Agency
  • World Coal Association